Breast Cancer Awareness Month & Breastfeeding!

2 Oct

OCTOBER IS BREAST CANCER AWARENESS MONTH FOR ALL OF THOSE WHO DIDN’T KNOW.

WITH SO MANY CAUSES AND AWARENESS DATES TO LOOK OUT FOR WE CAN OFTEN LOOK AT SOME CAUSES AS IF THEY AREN’T AS IMPORTANT AS THE NEXT.

 

BREAST CANCER…..AWARENESS! IT SOUNDS FRIGHTENING FROM AFAR, BUT ONCE YOU REALIZE THE SIGNIFICANCE IN MAKING SURE THAT THIS SPECIFIC BODY PART HAS THE EXAMINATIONS THAT IT REQUIRES TO MAINTAIN A HEALTHY STATUS, YOU FIND THE BEAUTY IN CELEBRATING BREAST CANCER AWARENESS MONTH.

 

TO BRING FORTH AWARENESS IS TO EDUCATE YOURSELF OR SOMEONE WITH CERTAIN INFORMATION TOWARD THE PROCESS OF BEING EXAMINED AND THE IMPORTANCE OF EARLY DETECTION.

EVERY YEAR WHEN WOMEN ARE SCHEDULED TO BE EXAMINED FOR THEIR ANNUALS DOCTORS WILL PERFORM A PHYSICAL HAND EXAMINATION ON YOUR BREASTS AND TELL YOU TO DO THE SAME WHEN YOU ARE LYING ON YOUR BACK IN BED.

SELF EXAMINATION IS AN EFFECTIVE METHOD IN DETECTING LUMPS IN YOUR BREASTS CANCEROUS OR NONCANCEROUS.  AS WELL AS MAMMOGRAMS WHICH DOCTORS WILL USUALLY SAY ARE FOR WOMEN 40 OR OLDER UNLESS INDICATED OTHERWISE.*

 

Blackberry phone August 21, 2009 003 Breast Feeding for Breast Cancer Awareness: After my son was born, not being sure if I would nurse him as a baby, seeing his face and months of prenatal doctor visits help me to realize that breastfeeding might really be the best start for him. So I decided I would go through with it. It sounded a lot easier than it really was I must add. The very first week of it was the hardest. My body had to adjust to the changes of feeding another human being everyday…….ALL DAY. And this continued everyday for the first 5 1/2 months of his life. There were no formulas. He had pure breast milk. I felt good about that part. Also appreciating that it lowered my risks of breast cancer.  So today when I realize this accomplishment, I feel proud and can easily celebrate my breasts. Breastfeeding is the best start for your children & it lowers your risk of breast cancer. A 2-in-1 cause. Blackberry phone August 21, 2009 006 002 Blackberry phone August 21, 2009 001

 2013 AUGUST PICTURES TORCH BLACKBERRY 011JUNE 2013 BLACKBERRY PICTURES 005This is a poem I wrote a while ago about breastfeeding & breast cancer awareness:

Breastfeed the babies,

That’s what they were made for

Thank God that He can restore

It increases the baby’s health & development

And reduce the risk of breast cancer in yours

Before formulas, God equipped me

Those precious, priceless moments of bonding, and my baby’s best start, that I’ll always have with me

& no worries about the girls (your breasts)

They’ll bounce back and once again be ‘Sitting Pretty.’

Leave a Reply

