Some Random Facts About Me!

20 Dec

 

By Veronica M. Benson

 

1. I had the best childhood and there is nothing about it that would ever make me not want to go through it again. From Christmas caroling, sledding, camping, snowball playing, water fights with each Super Soaker that came out and more. Playing in my grandmother’s yard and the peach tree she had grew the most delicious peaches. (I miss her, and wish she was here to meet my son! She used to chase us down the alley with what we called “pinching bugs” and living lobsters, then take them inside and put them in a pot and cook them! LOL

2. Graduating from college felt mandatory for me, like graduating from high school was. These standards will be applied to my son’s education as well.

3. I enjoyed growing up around all the guys in my family. I learned a lot watching them and listening to them when they interacted with females. Mostly bad things!

4. Every Spring or Christmas break I was always washing walls, washing blinds, cleaning the house or in the kitchen with my mother cooking. We were happy just to not be doing chores when we were done. Never thinking of Spring vacation trips like kids do today.

5. I can honestly say that each of my siblings got more whoopings than I did.

6. I chipped the bone in my elbow as a kid around 8 or 9 on the patio deck in my grandmother’s backyard. My mother didn’t believe I was hurt so she made me ride to the hospital on my bike. Once she saw my arm turning colors she saw that something was wrong. I’m pretty sure we were at the hospital by then.

7. I watched and listened to Immature and Marques Houston and went to concerts for years starting at age 10, and I just met him this year. I still love him.

8. Working in advertisement one of the best things I learned is

Y  ou

A lways

H  ave

O ther

O ptions

 

9. Growing up as the baby for 10 years, I was the least watched after. My mother tells me to this day “I never had to worry about you.” And she never has, I’ve always been able to take care of myself. It’s great to know I never cause her any worry, though she still might.

10. I was the first to graduate from college in my family of my siblings and cousins. I didn’t have a mentor or somebody I modeled after. I just made my own way and did my own thing.

11. I got my talent of writing poetry from my dad. I’ve written it since I was 12.

12. I think sympathy is one of the most wasted emotions there is.

13. I taught my son to use the bathroom (boy style), shoot his first basketball, his ABC’s, how to write and spell. Although he has male figures in his life, including his dad.  He got his library card at 3 because he could write his name. He got salvation at 3 because he knew God’s name.

14. I never wanted to be or never imagined getting married before my son and now that he’s here, I never need to be.

15. As a single mother I never tell my son he’s the man of the house. God is in that position and provides everything!

16. I still don’t know how to whistle.

17. During college, African dance was physical therapy for me, I connected to it right away.  It’s probably one of the things that helped me finish stress-free.

18. I really don’t like stupidity, ignorance or air-headed simpleness.

19. I’ve had pets since I can remember including: dogs, cats, turtles, gerbils, hamsters, snakes, lizards, birds and  fish. We always had a pet in our house.

20. I love shoes and purses!

21. Laughing is one of my favorite things to do.

22. Listening to music is a love of mine.

23. In kindergarten kids cried because their mothers were leaving, I cried because mine wanted to stay.

24. When my mother was really sick, I was 10, I took care of her. Including dressing her. I don’t remember completely, but she does.

25. I worked with my dad at the University of Chicago while attending college. That was a good time for us.

26. My oldest nephew who is 13, I treated and kept with me as if he was my child. Before I had a son. I took him to school and work with me, but I do remember being happy to drop him back off to my sister.

27. I had my foot ran over by a car. My mother was the driver.

28. I got my belly piercing at 22 with my best friend.  One of many memorable experiences we shared together.

29. I don’t like outside work in the yard, with bugs and dirt.

30. I’ve worked ever since I was 12 years of age.

31.  Writing is my most favorite thing to do! It’s effortless for me.  I love words.

 

 

 

Veronica M. Benson for Ve Michelle Writing Communications © 2013

Photography by Veronica M. Benson

2 Responses to “Some Random Facts About Me!”

  1. Tanisha December 20, 2013 at 3:04 am #

    #28 I remember well! Warms my heart that you referred to me as your best friend even though we haven’t seen or actually spoke to one another in years.

    • Ve Michelle February 6, 2014 at 12:31 am #

      🙂 Remember how we always did a lot of those crazy things together. Like go to Ford City with $20 and seem like we came back with a lot. Not to mention the latest key chain picture. I always say time and distance doesn’t determine those things. But the people. Nevertheless we were definitely best of friends when we went to get them! Good times. I may get mine done again…..maybe. 😉 Thanks for reading!!!

Leave a Reply

