My Open Letter To My Family & Friends

14 Jan

Dear loved ones:

It is my pleasure and truly a humbling opportunity to share some good news with you. Good news for you as well!

I’ll do my best to keep this short and sweet.

In life we often overlook simple luxuries as things that either are outdated or ineffective. We don’t believe they will work for us, when we haven’t tried them for ourselves at all or long enough to obtain desired results.

One of the greatest gifts given to mankind is the ability to move our bodies. When we thank God we thank Him for having the strength to get up in the morning without the need for assistance or some device that we could become dependent on due to an illness. We recognize this as a blessing. Some people with illnesses still see the ability to physically move around themselves is a blessing!

So what does it mean for you? In your current status of health? Are you doing EVERYTHING you can to maintain this healthy status? Do you acknowledge that your body is a like a machine, where all parts work together to keep you going? When you truly make this acknowledgement you will make no excuses for seeing your healthy body as a one-time offer. Some illnesses we can recover from but there are other illnesses that change our lives and the natural state of health that we know, for as long as we will live, should we happen to have to deal with them. We have to face the fact as well, that doing all that we can to be healthy may not prevent us from becoming ill. However it is a proven fact that a strong and healthy body is better against sickness than a weak and unhealthy lifestyle driven body. Yes? YES!!!

Experts say that it takes a consistent 21 days to make something a habit. After 21 days are over, when you continue, the habit becomes a part of your lifestyle. Of course we want to apply this to gaining healthy habits. In example exercising! We make the resolution each year to exercise, to lose weight along with other fitness goals. Then, each year at some point, we give up. Having been in this crowd I understood why, because I was making whatever excuse I needed to, to not continue. Now that I’m on the outside of those who have not gone through with these goals, I can tell you that IT IS POSSIBLE.

It is possible! And I’m not just saying it because it sounds good.  Some people look at me and think that I don’t need to workout because I’ve been a nice size my whole life. But being a 6, 4, 2 or 0 does not mean that someone does not have to exercise just as much as someone who is a size 16. With being healthy, it’s not about size. Our bodies have different needs and require different attention, but every living body needs exercise. This is what we all have in common.

I’ve carried and given birth to a child, overcame health issues and have come to the conclusion for myself that I like my body strong. I may not eat all healthy foods all the times, but I am going to exercise my body. Until I can conquer other areas of my health mentally as I have for the NEED of exercising. Need as opposed to want. Running was something that I never thought I would find myself doing. My oldest sister tried to get me to join the track team in high school and I saw no point in running just to be running. So needless to say I never joined. Not through college, not ever, up until recently within the last few years. I exercised but didn’t start running consistently until Spring 2011. The same year I ran my first marathon in the company of my then 5-year old son.  It’s always minor steps that lead to us getting over the biggest hurdles in our lives.

My desire for exercising did not come when everything was ideal for me in my life. It was during the hardest and the most difficult time of my life that I saw what I could hold on to so that I wouldn’t fall apart in my health, should everything else in my life. By previously having a gym membership I remembered everything that I learned there and did it on my own. My money was being spent specifically on the things in my household and my son. So when I was no longer going to the gym, I could still continue to exercise at home, as if I were. Dealing with the demands of life, we can say, but on my own. With a growing child. I feel I was blessed during this time because I sought out survival and found that being healthy is the only way. To be healthy I had to push myself over all of my hang-ups about running and the mentality that I’m young and didn’t need to exercise to feel good and to be healthy.

When you feel a certain way and doctor’s don’t see anything wrong, you may need to exercise your body.  Feelings of fatigue and being tired or certain pains that may not necessarily need painkillers to be soothed. Exercise works wonders on the body that we can just be happy to take part in and celebrate them!

So running is a part of my life now and is the first thing I turn to when I need an overall body workout or inspiration to help me with other exercising.  Although it is not my only source for exercising.

If you are going to finally resolve your resolutions, you will have to put forth an undying effort. Meaning you work on it until it no longer feels like work. Each day do a little of something. If you want to run,  you first start by walking. Then walk a little faster, then faster until you find you are running. It is a growing process, you won’t achieve it in one day.  Your mind and body has to adapt to the changes until it gets to the point where they are working together.

The toughest part of my letter. We put off health goals for the beginning of the year, that comes one time per year. As if we know we are guaranteed the next year. Something that I heard instantly made sense to me. “When you are given something freely, you give it away freely.” To me, this applied to information I had experienced and direction  that was given to me while in some very trying times. In situations where you know you could have died but were kept alive and the miracles performed before your eyes makes you excited whereas you want to tell someone else, so that they too will be helped, informed or saved.  When you feel you have nobody or nothing else, you want to to still have your health.

To my family and friends, of all ages, colors and sizes: Your NEW YEAR is now. If you are already involved in contributing to your health and your life by exercising then you are on the right path. For those of you who have been constantly putting it off, take this as tough love because I truly care and because I am concerned. NOW is all that you have. Not tomorrow, not next week, not when you can afford to go to the gym, not when you can buy workout clothes or shoes. You use what you have to get started! Right now, right where you are. You can’t wait for your girlfriend to go with you or your children to start acting right. If you have children, you can involve them as well. Exercise is the best defense against the negative energies that our bodies are encountered by especially stress. Which comes from numerous things.

If you continue to put off something for later that could have been the very thing to save your life, how does that benefit you in any way after it’s too late. It is great that you love God. Even in the bible it says that exercise is of some value. You get one body in your whole life!

Therefore you want to take care of it! As if you’ll never get another one, because you won’t. The physical labor that some of you may perform on your jobs does not compensate for the conscious and direct effort of moving every part of your body by exercising! Your body eventually gets used to those repetitive motions. Be mindful of that as well, so that you can subtract that excuse from your list of excuses. With health it doesn’t matter how popular, attractive, educated or successful you are.  Take care of what you have. Your health, your body and beauty as a package deal. You know your own personal issues whether it be that you smoke, that you are overweight, over-eating, excessive alcohol use or dependent on prescription medicine to do anything in your life. You know what your issues are before anyone else. So you have to be the first to decide not to ignore them. That you are going to take charge and not sit waiting for someone to come along and make you. Although there are many services to assist you, if you truly need it or want it. You’ll be surprised at what you can achieve on your own. If you believe and begin!

The great thing about making the decision to take control of this area in your life is that you don’t have to wait to get started!

 

If you think I can be of any assistance to you, you can comment here or email me directly at vemichellewritingcommunications@outlook.com with any questions, comments, concerns, etcetera.

It would be my pleasure.

 

With Love,

Veronica

 

 

By Veronica M. Benson

for Ve Michelle Writing Communications © 2013

 

Photography by Veronica M. Benson

One Response to “My Open Letter To My Family & Friends”

  1. ehowellb13@gmail.com January 14, 2014 at 6:21 pm #

    GOOD LOOK LOVEONE…..

Leave a Reply

