MY GIRLFRIEND

16 Apr

A poem I wrote a few years ago, which is one of my favorite pieces today! Let me know what you think.

 

MY GIRLFRIEND

By Veronica M. Benson

 

My girlfriend was around the other day when me and the Mr. had a falling out,

She shook her head and said how things happened between us, worried her & confirmed her doubts,

When he left the room she said I didn’t have a real man,
Because he admitted that it was his fault
And no man ever does that… She thought

She said..” he never argues with you when you’re dressed up to go out,
He never complains about the things u wear
And never tries to fight with you when he comes home & you’re not there”

Can’t you see he does not love you..she said

Because if he did, he would be more upset about the things that you did

“Dinner dates with us, a party every now & then
Late hours at work, the amount of money you spend”

“Attracting another guy’s eyes;
I mean, I never see u covering up the things you do with lies”… She said

“Don’t you ever feel that he’s paying no attention or that he doesn’t care,
When you do those types of things and he don’t grab you by your neck, or drag u by your hair..”

“I can’t go down the street to the corner store, and my man not trip
Because he says he never wants me far, times you’ve seen me with a swollen lip”

“You come & go as you please,
When if he loved u like my man love me, he’d have you on a leash..” She said

I don’t want to seem like I’m bragging, I know it’s to each its own

And I have no business in what’s going on in your home

I just worry because he might be playing you,
Out with other women, betraying u

He don’t choose your clothes or bust your nose

Smack you in front of friends or squeeze your arm in the presence of other men..

“I wonder, how can you see this as love?” She said

I haven’t spoken to my girlfriend, after she said what she said,

Two weeks after this conversation, my girlfriend was found dead

Leave a Reply

