Dream Seasons: 7/25/10

25 Jul

By Veronica M. Benson

3 20 2012 024

blackberry import 5 3 09 001

August 5 2010 002

3 20 2012 032

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

029

blackberry phone 2010 July 001

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

August 5 2010 013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

020

phone droid 040

phone droid 017

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

009

025

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lately I’ve been feeling like I’m in a significant season in my life. I call it dream season. I believe it is the season before my dreams come true or the season that my dreams begin to be revealed.

In my life my dreams began about 8 years ago when my son was born. Having a baby boy was the most miraculous event in my life. I never knew that I would be chosen to give birth to a boy. As well as if I even wanted to be a mother. Just like I knew I would never get married. God blessed me to be a mother and I wasn’t married.

When my son came into my life he was my little Angel. He still is. A miracle God sent to transform and bless me & my life. My life presently at that time and my future.

Growth isn’t always easy. I learned that as a mother more than any other time in my life. Though life is unpredictable and there have been trials and tribulations that I couldn’t have imagined, predicted or believed I would go through, there is nothing I would trade or give up to being a special little boy’s mother. My son’s mother.

I was chosen for this special purpose and throughout my life all of the jobs I worked, careers I thought I wanted, nothing in my life has more value than being a mother to Caleb. God knew my heart and that’s where he reached me to whisper all the dreams I could imagine.

When Caleb, came into my life I knew I had to be closer to God. I didn’t think so necessarily for me, but for him. My son. So with each pursuit to get closer & closer to God, I always found that there was a way to be even closer. So I began what felt like an endless, non-stop chase after God.

I joined church, after saying that I didn’t need to belong to a church to know God. At 1 year old, my son was blessed as a baby. An event in which the babies of the church are blessed and prayed over. Three years after I joined, I was baptized. In 2008. In 2009 I enrolled in the church’s 14-week membership orientation/training courses. 14 weeks of classes that enhances the spiritual self. At the end of the class, we had a spiritual gifts assessments. Mine came back with numerous results for different areas that I might specialize in. The funny thing about it all, is that before I joined in 2005, I hadn’t really belonged to a church. Though I spent time in one or the other. Calvary Baptist Church mostly, that I remember. As a child I didn’t grow up in one either. I believe when you have a purpose and when you know you are special, as I always have, it doesn’t have to take God all day to reach you. Throughout my life I’ve always believed in God and have always prayed, but never felt I needed to be in church. Because of what sounded like horror stories of church that my mother told me about her experiences being in church. I didn’t find out until I was in church myself that so much was missing in my life because I wasn’t there.

In 2010 along with the entire church I was fasting every 25th day of each month for the entire year. There was a lot going on in my life and some things I had already gone through, so during my time in prayer and fasting I was searching for clear answers about the direction of my life. I had so many people around me but I felt like I had no one but my son, a baby and God. Which turns out to be more than enough. God was also teaching me how to trust in him, completely. No matter what my eyes may have seen. So that He could do everything that He had planned to do in my life for me. God made it so that my eyes were watching Him. He separated me from everything that was a distraction to get me completely available to Him. I had to deal with some hard things to be obedient to God. (Not to a man, but God.)

Later on I realized that at the same time I was chasing and pursuing God, someone in my life was wrongfully trying to pursue & build a false case against me. That I wasn’t aware of. God had my eyes, mind and heart focused on Him. I was fasting and praying for peace, happiness & all the things that families can be for a special little boy. I needed also for God to show me that I was on the right path.

During the 7th month of fasting and praying with our church on the 25th day, God called my 3-year old baby to salvation. Forgetting that I asked God this somewhere near the end of the last year, when my son asked me about “going forth” weeks before, I thought he was just playing & wanting to do what he saw other people doing. So on that day I knew God was moving in his spirit. And that He was giving me the very blessing I had asked, which was to save my baby before his 4th birthday. God had spoken to me clearly & for this miracle I never have to doubt that He’s listening to me, and guiding me. Because I look for Him to, in my whole life. He also knows that I trust Him. Especially when it comes to my son.

Each year I will celebrate and talk about 7/25/10 until someone gets it! Until someone understands the miracles God can perform in children. Though we live in chaos. Until someone gets that you don’t need to worry about a man doing right by you or your children. Give it to God! Don’t stress and worry about other grown people, when you are supposed to be taking care of and teaching the babies about God. Now!

You can take your eyes off of a man and focus them completely on God. When you want something from God, He has to know that you are for real. You don’t have to be perfect. That’s what I love about God. The whole world or everyone who thinks they know something about me can think whatever or say whatever about me. Then God is going to keep blessing me!

Fix your desires on things set above. Seek ye first the Kingdom of God, and all else will be added.

Dreams are real. Dreams can be made real, but in God.

By Veronica M. Benson

Leave a Reply

