Thank You!

8 Feb

I just want to take time out to say Thank You to my followers here at

for following my blog.

Writing is an effortless luxury for me. Without it I don’t know how my life would make sense. It’s always been an outlet and a passion in my life. I never take it for granted when people take interest in my art. I’m not just one type of writer, which is the mystery in the craft. I’ve been writing poetry since I was 12 years old and I joined my high school’s newspaper as a feature writer and became the Editor-in-Chief. During that time my work was selected and competed in a citywide competition in which I received awards and a scholarship during my two years on the newspaper staff.

I went on to college and continued my pursuits in what is to me a natural ability that I have in journalism, as well as studied and learned other forms of writing. I became a member of my college’s chapter of NABJ, the National Association of Black Journalists, as well as wrote for college distributed magazines while in my roles as secretary and treasurer of the organization.

As a member of NABJ we traveled each year to conferences in different states to meet and network with other journalists. Both students and professionals. Which is always a good time! I look forward to continuing to embark on these journalism excursions in the near future. They are very useful networking platforms as well as a lot of fun.

Upon receiving my Bachelors degree in Journalism for print & broadcast with a minor in television production, I immediately went to work, as well worked throughout my entire college education, starting back when I was in 8th grade. Working and making my own money has always been important to me and my life.

I’ve worked in various media settings including in advertising, for one of the largest advertising firms in Chicago, and in television production at Harpos studios.
All while continuing my pursuits as a Freelance Writer. I’ve been a writer most of my life, but recently I am very inspired, in the glamorous aspect of it, by Carrie Bradshaw. The main character who is a writer on the Sex and The City series and movies.

Although I wouldn’t mind being a part of one print or broadcast media company, my free spirit won’t let me allow myself to belong to one organization. I enjoy being able to work & write for different writing opportunities. Not having to deal with the logistics of competing organizations. As well as the perks of being able to navigate from one media form to the other.

Advertising somehow made it to the top of my list for writing. I love advertising. The writing, the visuals, messages and the art of it. And the environment.

My most recent work was with Smart Chicago Collaborative, for “The School of Data Conference” in September 2014. I worked an intensive two days in an effort to collect as much data as I can through video recording, live streaming, photography, blogging, note-taking, writing and using any other form of creativity that I could think of to document the conference. My work will be published collectively with other contributors in a book scheduled to come out in the summer of 2015. This is something I’m excited about. It will be my first published book. That makes me officially an author. Even though I know without a doubt, with years of poetry stored and other writing I’ve done, I have at least 2-3 books on hand already.

The exciting life of a writer. It’s just the beginning though. I hope you’ll come along on the journey with me.

One of the best things I’ve ever heard was while I was attending a Chicago chapter NABJ meeting and one of the speakers said “Be a great writer at everything” I thought that was the simplest way to sum up what I wanted to do. Even though he might have meant it for different areas in broadcast journalism, being in the broadcast field, I applied that to my entire life. Every kind of writing I would do, I would be great.

Writing has been and always will be a part of my life. In every job that I’ve worked, I always found myself incorporating writing into my day-to-day tasks.

I believe for everything that a person wants to do, there is always one avenue to be the foot in the door. Or the golden ticket to everything, is what I call it. I know I found mine many years ago and that’s what writing is for me.

Thanks again for being a follower on my blog!

I look forward to sharing many more of my stories, my life and journey with you!

Veronica

Leave a Reply

