Keep In Touch📱💻

7 Oct

 


Nowadays it’s so important for people to “keep in touch, stay in touch or stay connected.” As it’s been referred to on different occasions. I’m not sure what has warranted this urgency of staying connected to people you have no life connection with. Or staying connected to those you don’t see, deal with or talk to on a regular basis.

Social media might be in part to blame for such behavior but then again, maybe some people have to deal with the idea of not being connected to someone for their own comfort.

More than ever, for me this has made me aware of my own relationships. Facebook has the most “friend” connections for me than any of my other social sites. That’s because I decided that I would cater it to interact amongst my family, friends (the actual ones), associates, high school & college peers as well as some people I’ve worked with. That number may be just well into the 200 mark. Which is not considered to be a lot. Every now & then I may do some revisions to my friends list. Simply because I don’t think it’s necessary to have a lot of people lingering to have a large number of friends, followers, likes, etc. It’s very simple for me.

For branding purposes, I’m well aware of who my audience is. They are driven to me and I’m driven to them. Whether it’s one person or one hundred people I rather be an inspiration to individuals who are actually interested than those who just hang around on your social media pages to see what you’re doing. I’m amazed at what extremes people go through to do so.

With the photos, status updates, video posts & likes that I put on social media, I am proud to say that there is no way that the information disclosed on my private sites indicate what my personal, real-world life is everyday. Or the things that go on in my personal life. There’s always more, or at least there should be. I don’t believe everyone gives a play-by-play of their lives on social media. But I could be wrong about that.

So where is the fire? What’s the need of keeping in touch with people you don’t keep in touch with? There is nothing more perplexing than to pick up the phone to someone that I haven’t talked to, communicated with or even thought about saying “I’m just keeping in touch,” just to not talk to them for a significant amount of time after that. All I can do is laugh. Because I haven’t talked to them in so long & I know there is no reason for us to keep in touch. Just the same, getting a social media message in my inbox of someone trying to “get in touch” with me to see if my number changed, just for the sake of having it. As well as those who want to privately inbox to rekindle old friendships. To some people this kind of behavior might come across as harassment.

Texting is another form of false connection. If I don’t talk to someone as much as text messages are sent, our form of communication is only through text. There is no relationship there. Nor can any relationship be sustained via text message.

To me, I think it’s very simple to understand that people who want you in their lives will make sure you know that they do.

I do believe in the process of moving on. There’s growth in it, peace, happiness & power. No one should have power over you.

I’ve had to master the art of moving on from people who I still have to deal with due to certain circumstances. Life can be difficult enough on its own. We shouldn’t feel burdened by the weight of carrying other people or their expectations that they’ve somehow linked you to.

When you find that you haven’t talked to someone in a while, decided to assess people in your life, you’ve editted your phone book or friends list and some people are deleted, that’s called life. It happens. It’s fine for them as well.

Should these people reach out to you in other ways, be nice & cordial. But if you’re not trying to be connected, then don’t connect. Sometimes the issue is not keeping in touch, but letting go. You may learn that before other people do, but eventually, they’ll move on. With this instant access of people and Information Age we are in, we can be easily blinded and forget the essence of real relationships and knowing the difference. It may require some work. Those of us who take time out to “get it,” will get it. We still have to dwell amongst those who have not.

I know that I’ve become more of a socialite than I used to be. In that, I mean actually socializing in person, face-to-face. Physically seeing someone and they get to see me. Not hiding behind a telephone or computer screen. These are tools of communication for active relationships when we can’t see each other in person. They’re not to be used as an electronic leash for being held on to.

Know your own guidelines & follow them accordingly. That’s the best way of keeping your own interactive life under control and not letting it control you.

Leave a Reply

