Christmas Toys Of The Past

1 Dec

Only 24 days until Christmas! Everyday leading up to it is just as important and matters just as much. 

How much fun would Christmas be if it was only for just one day?

My son & I love the holidays more than anyone else we know. Our Christmas tradition started when I was a little girl and now, my son has known Christmas to be special ever since I was pregnant with him. 

We’ve started our own traditions as well as kept some of the old ones. That’s what the holidays are about to me.

Everywhere I go I love to hear about people’s plans for the holidays. They are always different, but similar because of the reason. It’s interesting to learn how others view & celebrate the holiday season. I guess that’s just the writer in me or the fact that I feel like I can be exactly what I feel during the Christmas holiday. 

There’s no greater joy than the smiles, wonders, love & enjoyment the holiday brings. 

As my son writes his  Christmas list(s), we talk a lot about my childhood memories, and the ones  we’ve been talking about more often than others, is Christmas. 

What was Christmas like for me as a child, and what toys did I wake up to on Christmas morning. 

I found pictures of some of them to show him. To kids, toys are toys so he didn’t see a problem with his girl, mother, woman getting a Pet Monster for Christmas as a little girl. Although we did laugh about it.

I’m pretty sure I played with & loved the thing eventually, as I tend to grow attached to my stuff and connect to it sentimentally. 

It just goes to show that the wonders of Christmas are both exciting & mysterious. The memories of the past & the ones to be made are priceless! 

  
  

Pet Monster. My brother & sister had one as well. There’s nothing cute about it but I can see that the idea of actually having a monster for a pet might be intriguing.   

  

Cricket Doll. My favorite baby doll of all time. She talks and tells stories and her eyes move. So I wasn’t always to fond of her thanks to the Child’s Play movies. But we grew to love each other. I still remember her songs & stories today. 

  

Cabbage Patch Kids. I’ve always loved Cabbage Patches and have wanted a lot of them at one time. I remember having 1 or 2. One being the crimp ‘n curl Cabbage Patch. I think I’ll add a cabbage patch to my list this year. 

  
    

Betsy Wetsy was one of my most memorable baby dolls. She could drink water & use the potty. 
    

Lip Smackers had to be my very first introduction to lipgloss. I wanted every flavor. I had the Lip Smackers necklace. I remember waking up everyday getting dressed & combing my hair just so I can put on lip gloss. Even if I wasn’t going anywhere. Friends would tease me  saying that I know I be “sitting pretty.” 

57 Chevy light blue, pink interior convertible Barbie car. My Barbie dolls were riding in style. It could seat 4 or 5 dolls and the trunk actually opens. Memories of playing toys with my boy cousins with their toy men, they would always say “the man is supposed to have the car” in an attempt to take over my barbie’s car. lol

    

I remember waking up one Christmas morning to a giant inflatable alligator underneath the Christmas tree and it was mine. It was a fun ride-on for the pool. 
  

Another baby doll that I had and remembered. The best part about having dolls with hair is to undo the styles that they already have, believing I can do it better. I loved my Kenya doll. I’m pretty sure I loved all of my dolls. 

 

My first real technological baby. I took care of the baby until the game didn’t work anymore. These was one of my teenage years Christmas toys. I never get too old for Christmas. And I guess it goes to show being a good mother has always been inside of me. 

I love it! 

  
I had to be 17 or 18 years old when I got my last baby doll and this was her. Jessica from the Babysitter’s club. She was a favorite of mine as well. 

   
 
I’m sure everyone had one of these. Both boys & girls. My Buddy & Kid Sister dolls. Edit

  
Pictured here is one of the exact same kitchens I had. The table lets up & down. There’s a coffee maker and telephone. I had a lot of good times with this toy. 

Do you have memories of your childhood Christmases? 

You can make a Christmas moment of it today while telling your child about it while painting a Christmas picture, hanging decoration or watching Christmas movies while drinking hot chocolate. 

Christmas comes only once a year! 

What are your plans for the holidays? 

Always remember no matter the plans or company, if everything is done with the right heart & mind and in the spirit of Christmas, then the spirit of Christmas will be near. 
Happy Holidays, 

From my son Caleb,www.calebanthonyg.weebly.com & Veronica, vemichelle.com

πŸŽ„πŸŽβ˜ƒβ„οΈ

Leave a Reply

